BEER REVIEWS

Here’s a list of the last 50 beers that I’ve tried from my Untappd feed using RETAPPD plugin.

Bright West - IPA - American - Ferment Brewing Company -   United States
Bright West at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: Ferment Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6.5
First Had: January 26, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: A bright, citrus and pine forward IPA. Shallow malt is overpowered by the bit bitterness.

Sassy Pony - Pale Ale - American - Gigantic Brewing Company -   United States
Sassy Pony at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: Gigantic Brewing Company, United States
Style: Pale Ale - American
ABV: 5.6
First Had: January 26, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Wonderful full hop juicy profile with a medium bread chew, slight acidic back.

Frost Hammer - Lager - Helles - Grains of Wrath  -   United States
Frost Hammer at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: Grains of Wrath , United States
Style: Lager - Helles
ABV: 4.6
First Had: January 26, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Really nice medium body, sweet bready chew, clean grassy hop profile. Well balanced.

Hellesner - Lager - Helles - Baerlic Brewing Company -   United States
Hellesner at Baerlic Brewing
Brewery: Baerlic Brewing Company, United States
Style: Lager - Helles
ABV: 4.8
First Had: January 25, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: A little bit yeasty and lemony dry pithy goodness. Nice cross of medium cracker body and sweet bread chew.

Good Guys Wear Plaid - Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy - Baerlic Brewing Company -   United States
Good Guys Wear Plaid at Baerlic Brewing
Brewery: Baerlic Brewing Company, United States
Style: Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy
ABV: 5.1
First Had: January 25, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Sweet, mild roast, toffee and low dry leaf hops, good effervescent mid.

Sandy Paws - Lager - Winter - Heater Allen Brewing -   United States
Sandy Paws at Mac Wine Cellars
Brewery: Heater Allen Brewing, United States
Style: Lager - Winter
ABV: 7.4
First Had: January 23, 2020
My Rating: 4.75
My Comment: Rich and toasty approach, medium body, sweet malt with low hop profile.

Azacca Crush - IPA - American - Reuben's Brews -   United States
Azacca Crush at Up North Surf Club & Beer
Brewery: Reuben's Brews, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6
First Had: January 23, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Sweet and grapefruit juice forward, medium body, dries out on the back.

Brewer's Ale 2019 - Brown Ale - American - Hair of the Dog Brewing Company -   United States
Brewer's Ale 2019 at Hair of the Dog Brewery & Tasting Room
Brewery: Hair of the Dog Brewing Company, United States
Style: Brown Ale - American
ABV: 6
First Had: January 22, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Sweet dried fruits and caramel softness all over. Mild earthen and wet leafy hop profile.

Polka Dot - IPA - American - Hair of the Dog Brewing Company -   United States
Polka Dot at Hair of the Dog Brewery & Tasting Room
Brewery: Hair of the Dog Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 5.5
First Had: January 22, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Dry, dry, and more dry, grapefruit pithy, low sweetness, strong acidic and fruit bitters all over.

Float With the Flock - Pilsner - Other - Cinderlands Beer Co -   United States
Float With the Flock at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Cinderlands Beer Co, United States
Style: Pilsner - Other
ABV: 4.8
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: This is not a starter beer. The tea aspect is all over, and a bit overpowering. Thin cracker, sweet white bread sugars.

Cococino (2019)  - Porter - Other - Hitchhiker Brewing Company -   United States
Cococino (2019) at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Hitchhiker Brewing Company, United States
Style: Porter - Other
ABV: 6.8
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: We didn't get any coconut on this, it's a stronger coffee burned profile all over.

Christian Patrick - Stout - Imperial / Double - Kane Brewing Company -   United States
Christian Patrick at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Kane Brewing Company, United States
Style: Stout - Imperial / Double
ABV: 10.9
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Sweetness and bitterness are more equal than not, super rich, hops hold it in check.

Evening Bell - Porter - Imperial / Double - Kane Brewing Company -   United States
Evening Bell at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Kane Brewing Company, United States
Style: Porter - Imperial / Double
ABV: 9.2
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Coffee, cream, more coffee, and a milky body. Too sweet, really too sweet.

One More Sleep - Stout - Imperial / Double Milk - Cinderlands Beer Co -   United States
One More Sleep at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Cinderlands Beer Co, United States
Style: Stout - Imperial / Double Milk
ABV: 12
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: More molasses and coffee forward than I like. A lot of spice on the back.

Blazing Crude - Stout - Milk / Sweet - Cinderlands Beer Co -   United States
Blazing Crude at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Cinderlands Beer Co, United States
Style: Stout - Milk / Sweet
ABV: 9
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Lovely coffee and sweet vanilla front, mild acidic citrus notes on the mid, clean and not offensive.

Clover Club - Sour - Gose - Back Bay's Farmhouse Brewing Co -   United States
Clover Club at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Back Bay's Farmhouse Brewing Co, United States
Style: Sour - Gose
ABV: 10.2
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: Great complex raspberry tart profile. Solid body and lingers a bit sourness.

Never Never Forever Forever - Sour - Gose - Fruited - The Veil Brewing Co. -   United States
Never Never Forever Forever at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: The Veil Brewing Co, United States
Style: Sour - Gose - Fruited
ABV: 5.1
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: Super tart lime and a thin body, clean and refreshing.

Five (V) - Porter - Imperial / Double - Brew Gentlemen -   United States
Five (V) at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Brew Gentlemen, United States
Style: Porter - Imperial / Double
ABV: 10
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: This is a soft bourbon and roasted molasses vibe. Sweet front to back.

Arrakis Winter Warmer Ale - Red Ale - Other - Ecliptic Brewing -   United States
Arrakis Winter Warmer Ale at Ecliptic Brewing
Brewery: Ecliptic Brewing, United States
Style: Red Ale - Other
ABV: 7.5
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Winter warmer done right, classic red (Phobos) with a quality spice range that is reminiscent of ginger snaps.

Magnetar - Scottish Ale - Ecliptic Brewing -   United States
Magnetar at Ecliptic Brewing
Brewery: Ecliptic Brewing, United States
Style: Scottish Ale
ABV: 9
First Had: January 20, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Rich profile of caramel and toffee forward profile. Mild leafy hop bitters and a sweet sugary note on the back.

Panther Lake Porter - Porter - American - Silver City Brewery -   United States
Panther Lake Porter
Brewery: Silver City Brewery, United States
Style: Porter - American
ABV: 6
First Had: January 19, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Toasty bread crust, thin body, lingers a burned malt vibe.

Grapefruit IPA - Gluten-Free - Ghostfish Brewing Company -   United States
Grapefruit IPA at The Hammond Kitchen + Craft Bar
Brewery: Ghostfish Brewing Company, United States
Style: Gluten-Free
ABV: 5.5
First Had: January 19, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: Gluten free means a struggle for malt balance, but this one can handle it. The bitters are strong and solid.

Beer With A Clever Name - Wheat Beer - American Pale Wheat - StormBreaker Brewing -   United States
Beer With A Clever Name at StormBreaker St. Johns
Brewery: StormBreaker Brewing, United States
Style: Wheat Beer - American Pale Wheat
ABV: 5.7
First Had: January 18, 2020
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Dry and a nice herbal hop note up front. Cracker thin body, mild sugars.

Extra StormBreaker - Extra Special / Strong Bitter - StormBreaker Brewing -   United States
Extra StormBreaker at StormBreaker St. Johns
Brewery: StormBreaker Brewing, United States
Style: Extra Special / Strong Bitter
ABV: 5.8
First Had: January 18, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Solid body, earthy dry leafy hop notes, caramel sweet back.

Rosenstadt Herbst Weizen - Hefeweizen - Rosenstadt Brewery -   United States
Rosenstadt Herbst Weizen at Occidental Wursthaus
Brewery: Rosenstadt Brewery, United States
Style: Hefeweizen
ABV: 5.2
First Had: January 18, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: A nice take on the traditional crystal weizen. Herbally hop notes push the profile in interesting ways (not bad).

Isarweizen - Hefeweizen - Heater Allen Brewing -   United States
Isarweizen at Mac Wine Cellars
Brewery: Heater Allen Brewing, United States
Style: Hefeweizen
ABV: 4.85
First Had: January 17, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Lovely banana and soft spice notes are in point. Medium body and mild dry back.

Grevensteiner Original Naturtrübes Landbier - Kellerbier / Zwickelbier - Brauerei VELTINS -   Germany
Grevensteiner Original Naturtrübes Landbier at Occidental Wursthaus
Brewery: Brauerei VELTINS, Germany
Style: Kellerbier / Zwickelbier
ABV: 5.2
First Had: January 16, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Dry and slightly herbal, subtle sweet mid, clean back.

Dusseldorf Alt - Altbier - Occidental Brewing Co. -   United States
Dusseldorf Alt at Occidental Brewing Company
Brewery: Occidental Brewing Co, United States
Style: Altbier
ABV: 5.5
First Had: January 16, 2020
My Rating: 4.75
My Comment: A solid caramel forward sweet alt. Clean mid, dries a bit on the back.

Engelberg Pilsner - Pilsner - Other - Upright Brewing Company -   United States
Engelberg Pilsner at Lombard House
Brewery: Upright Brewing Company, United States
Style: Pilsner - Other
ABV: 4.75
First Had: January 16, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: A classic simple pilsner is hard to make. This is a classic simple pilsner.

Hop It Don't Drop It - IPA - New England - StormBreaker Brewing -   United States
Hop It Don't Drop It at StormBreaker St. Johns
Brewery: StormBreaker Brewing, United States
Style: IPA - New England
ABV: 6.2
First Had: January 16, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Juicy hops aren't offensive or overbearing. Mango, pineapple and hits of grapefruit pithy dryness.

Bigger On the Inside - English Bitter - Loowit Brewing Company -   United States
Bigger On the Inside at Loowit Brewing Company
Brewery: Loowit Brewing Company, United States
Style: English Bitter
ABV: 5.4
First Had: January 12, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Toffee, vanilla, and caramel sugar front, dries quickly to a earthen and wet leaf back.

Grimlock Rye Porter - Porter - American - Loowit Brewing Company -   United States
Grimlock Rye Porter at Loowit Brewing Company
Brewery: Loowit Brewing Company, United States
Style: Porter - American
ABV: 5
First Had: January 12, 2020
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Super toasty and coffee forward bitters. Dark chocolate approach on the mid. Dry backed.

John Brown's Cascadian Brown Ale - Brown Ale - American - Two Brothers Brewing Company -   United States
John Brown's Cascadian Brown Ale at The Smokin Oak
Brewery: Two Brothers Brewing Company, United States
Style: Brown Ale - American
ABV: 0
First Had: January 12, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: Coffee bitterness is mild, rich burned malts, thin mid.

Schwarzbier (German Black Ale) - Schwarzbier - Dru Bru -   United States
Schwarzbier (German Black Ale) at The Smokin Oak
Brewery: Dru Bru, United States
Style: Schwarzbier
ABV: 4.8
First Had: January 12, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Coffee and thin toasty mid. Nitro pour doesn't help.

Köstritzer Schwarzbier - Schwarzbier - Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei -   Germany
Köstritzer Schwarzbier at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Köstritzer Schwarzbierbrauerei, Germany
Style: Schwarzbier
ABV: 4.8
First Had: January 11, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Well, after a full night of beer sipping and enjoying some live music, this is a good way to finish the evening.

Franziskaner Premium Weissbier - Hefeweizen - Spaten-Franziskaner-Löwenbräu-Gruppe -   Germany
Franziskaner Premium Weissbier at Prost! Portland
Brewery: Spaten-Franziskaner-Löwenbräu-Gruppe, Germany
Style: Hefeweizen
ABV: 5
First Had: January 11, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Banana banana and banana. Oh, and a little chewy sweet bread, and a smidge of clove on the back.

PCT Porter - Porter - American - Crux Fermentation Project -   United States
PCT Porter at Kenton Club
Brewery: Crux Fermentation Project, United States
Style: Porter - American
ABV: 5.5
First Had: January 11, 2020
My Rating: 4.5
My Comment: Roasted cocoa and coffee front, super dry and thin bodied. Mild cocoa sweetness on the back.

Export Lager - Lager - Dortmunder / Export - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
Export Lager at Kenton Club
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: Lager - Dortmunder / Export
ABV: 5.7
First Had: January 11, 2020
My Rating: 3.25
My Comment: A medium body, bright herbal and grassy note, high carbonated.

Glow & Plunder - Pilsner - German - Ascendant Beer Company -   United States
Glow & Plunder at Fino
Brewery: Ascendant Beer Company, United States
Style: Pilsner - German
ABV: 5
First Had: January 11, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Somewhere between helles and pilsner in malt and shallow grassy and tropical hops.

Bohemian Rip City - Pilsner - Other - Sasquatch Brewing Company -   United States
Bohemian Rip City at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Sasquatch Brewing Company, United States
Style: Pilsner - Other
ABV: 5.1
First Had: January 09, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Classic, clean herbal and gentile grassy hop note, cracker malt, mild sweet back. Really good.

Plans Are All You Make - IPA - New England - Ex Novo Brewing -   United States
Plans Are All You Make at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Ex Novo Brewing, United States
Style: IPA - New England
ABV: 7
First Had: January 09, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Dank, almost too bitter to enjoy, there is a bit of rotted wet hop cone going on.

IPA - IPA - American - pFriem Family Brewers -   United States
IPA at Mac Wine Cellars
Brewery: pFriem Family Brewers, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 7.2
First Had: January 09, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Sharp and grassy, solid white bread crust chew, lingers acidic.

Let's Play - Fresh Hop Edition - Pilsner - Other - Level Beer -   United States
Let's Play - Fresh Hop Edition at Overlook Neighborhood
Brewery: Level Beer, United States
Style: Pilsner - Other
ABV: 5
First Had: January 08, 2020
My Rating: 4.25
My Comment: Clean fresh and forward herbal and grassy notes, medium cracker malt mid, clean finishing.

Where the Mild Things Are - English Mild Ale - Ex Novo Brewing -   United States
Where the Mild Things Are
Brewery: Ex Novo Brewing, United States
Style: English Mild Ale
ABV: 3.5
First Had: January 08, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Smooth to the max.

Revision IPA - IPA - American - Revision Brewing Company -   United States
Revision IPA at Haymaker
Brewery: Revision Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6.5
First Had: January 08, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Pine and juicy grapefruit pithy body. Medium chewy body and shallow sweetness.

Motley Brüe - IPA - American - Fieldwork® Brewing Company -   United States
Motley Brüe at The BeerMongers
Brewery: Fieldwork® Brewing Company, United States
Style: IPA - American
ABV: 6.6
First Had: January 06, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Juicy orange pithy bomb, a splash of pineapple and dry mid. Medium bodied and chew.

Dunkles - Lager - Euro Dark - Aslan Brewing Company -   United States
Dunkles at The BeerMongers
Brewery: Aslan Brewing Company, United States
Style: Lager - Euro Dark
ABV: 5.6
First Had: January 06, 2020
My Rating: 3.75
My Comment: Soft and smooth body, caramel and toast are balanced with the dry leafy hop resins.

Fólkvangr - Dark Ale - Little Beast Brewing -   United States
Fólkvangr at Little Beast Brewing Beer Garden
Brewery: Little Beast Brewing, United States
Style: Dark Ale
ABV: 6.7
First Had: January 05, 2020
My Rating: 4
My Comment: Amazing dark and mellow coffee and burned malt profile. Lower hop note on the front.

Porter - Porter - American - Assembly Brewing -   United States
Porter at Assembly Brewing
Brewery: Assembly Brewing, United States
Style: Porter - American
ABV: 5.7
First Had: January 05, 2020
My Rating: 3.5
My Comment: Roast forward, slight smoke and thin mid body. Shallow earthy hops. Clean back.

Black Gold - Schwarzbier - Block 15 Brewing Company -   United States
Black Gold at Loyal Legion
Brewery: Block 15 Brewing Company, United States
Style: Schwarzbier
ABV: 5
First Had: January 04, 2020
My Rating: 4.5
My Comment: Clean, thin, roast is there but not overpowering, mid is sweet to chewy. Lovely.

Powered by Untappd | Brought to you by for WordPress

Leave a Reply